When it comes to work holding, Festool products are hard to beat. I have the earlier version of the MFT table which is awesome in the shop or as a portable work bench. Using their clamps, I find it very versatile for sanding, routing and other applications. Certainly beats trying to hold with one hand while using a tool with the other. You can even clamp to the side of the table for edge work.

In the bottom two right pictures you see how I use the Festool clamps on a home made straight edge I use for several things. Recently I have been cleaning up the edge on passage doors using a flush trim router bit. Simply mark your line, line up the rail and clamp from the bottom with no clamp on top I n your way! The T-Track is routed into the board. I have several lengths handy since they are I inexpensive and fairly simple to make to make.

2016-10-01-13-33-032016-09-25-17-45-51

I use a T-slot router bit on a router table for this for this. I find it easier to route the middle part first with a 3/8″ straight bit to hog out material. The router table fence can remain in the same position. Sorry about the picture but you should get the idea.

2016-09-25-17-51-24

More to come 0n this subject soon!

Thanks

